Qigong for Your Tummy: Day 16 of the Qigong Challenge (stomach/spleen/earth element)

Sometimes it's helpful to look at a diagram of your anatomy to get a feel for where you are sending the colors for the sets.

Sometimes it’s helpful to look at a diagram of your anatomy to get a feel for where you are sending the colors for the sets.

We are on the fifth element: earth.  This element corresponds to your spleen.  So, of course, today we will learn to rejuvenate our stomach and spleen.  This movement can help with digestion or any issues with your stomach.  Just as a warning, don’t do this movement on its own.  Definitely always begin with the clearing and end with pushing the energy out of your head and chest and storing your energy.  However, you also need to incorporate an energy circulation movement in your beginning stages of your qigong practice with this exercise.  I know this from experience.  I thought I’d cut corners and just do this movement with the clearing and storing and ended up with a tummy ache and a bit of loose stool.  I brought up my issue with my teacher and he explained that in the beginning, I need to do more energy circulation in conjunction with the movement to make sure I’m not just building up energy in my stomach and leaving it there.  I explain this more in the video.

Check it out: Wudang set (stomach/spleen/earth element)

Leave a Reply

